MINUTES OF THE ESU #11 BOARD MEETING June 16, 2025

The Board of Educational Service Unit #11 of the State of Nebraska, hereinafter referred to as ESU 11, held its regular monthly meeting at the Office Building in Holdrege, Nebraska on June 16, 2025 with the following members present: Caroline Erickson, Deanne Favinger, Machelle Havenridge, Vickie Klein, Anita Krejdl, Galen Kronhofman, Denis Reese, Kim Scoville, and Gary Smidt. George Probasco was absent.

Notification was made of the Open Meetings Law.

Public Notice that the regular monthly meeting of the Board of ESU 11 would be held on June 16, 2025 was published in newspapers of general circulation in the counties making up ESU 11 during the week of June 2, 2025 and broadcast over radio stations KUVR and KRVN. The Public Notice also stated that a current agenda of items to be brought before the Board was available for public inspection in the office of ESU 11 and that reasonable accommodations for individuals with special needs who want to attend the meeting would be provided on request if sufficient advance notice is given.

Motion made by Anita Krejdl, seconded by Kim Scoville, to excuse the absence of George Probasco. Vote as follows: Caroline Erickson, yes; Deanne Favinger, yes; Machelle Havenridge, yes; Vickie Klein, yes; Anita Krejdl, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; and Gary Smidt, yes. Motion carried 9 yes, 0 no, 1 absent.

Mr. Poppert, ESU 11 Administrator, reviewed the consent agenda items, including the minutes from the May 19, 2025 meeting and the financial reports and claims. Motion made by Kim Scoville, seconded by Deanne Favinger, to approve the consent agenda as presented. Vote as follows: Caroline Erickson, yes; Deanne Favinger, yes; Machelle Havenridge, yes; Vickie Klein, yes; Anita Krejdl, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; and Gary Smidt, yes. Motion carried 9 yes, 0 no, 1 absent.

Motion made by Machelle Havenridge, seconded by Denis Reese, to approve all policy revisions as presented. Vote as follows: Caroline Erickson, yes; Deanne Favinger, yes; Machelle Havenridge, yes; Vickie Klein, yes; Anita Krejdl, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; and Gary Smidt, yes. Motion carried 9 yes, 0 no, 1 absent.

Motion made by Deanne Favinger, seconded by Vickie Klein, to approve the 2025-26 ESU 11 Staff Handbook as presented. Vote as follows: Caroline Erickson, yes; Deanne Favinger, yes; Machelle Havenridge, yes; Vickie Klein, yes; Anita Krejdl, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; and Gary Smidt, yes. Motion carried 9 yes, 0 no, 1 absent.

Motion made by Anita Krejdl, seconded by Deanne Favinger, to authorize payment of the July 2025 claims. Vote as follows: Caroline Erickson, yes; Deanne

ESU #11 BOARD MEETING MINUTES JUNE 16, 2025 PAGE 2

Favinger, yes; Machelle Havenridge, yes; Vickie Klein, yes; Anita Krejdl, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; and Gary Smidt, yes. Motion carried 9 yes, 0 no, 1 absent.

Lona Nelson, Special Education Director, reported that the ESU is hosting the Inclusive Practices Training on June 16 and 17. Due to limited space in Conference Room A, the training was capped at 60 people. Participants will receive a stipend provided through the PEaK Project. April Overholser attended a Restorative Practices Train the Trainer workshop to support ESU 11 districts. The Planning Region Team held it's annual Strategic Planning meeting to review data and begin gathering information to support grant writing. Lona is also supporting districts in completing the Maintenance of Effort Standard Eligibility Report that is currently open.

Mr. Poppert, Unit Administrator, reported that the building stucco repair has been completed and will make a future decision whether to repaint the building. New landscaping bricks have also been installed to replace the old wood timbers. Mr. Poppert discussed having the budget work session meeting on August 18 at 6:30 before the regularly scheduled board meeting.

The budget work session board meeting will be held on August 18, 2025 at 6:30 p.m. with the regular meeting of the Board of Educational Service Unit #11 at 7:00 p.m.

Galen Kronhofman, Board President, declared the meeting adjourned at 7:36 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Vickie Klein, Board Secretary