MINUTES OF THE ESU #11 BOARD MEETING MAY 19, 2025

The Board of Educational Service Unit #11 of the State of Nebraska, hereinafter referred to as ESU 11, held its regular monthly meeting at the Office Building in Holdrege, Nebraska on May 19, 2025 with the following members present: Caroline Erickson, Deanne Favinger, Machelle Havenridge, Vickie Klein, Anita Krejdl, Galen Kronhofman, George Probasco, Denis Reese, Kim Scoville, and Gary Smidt.

Notification was made of the Open Meetings Law.

Public Notice that the regular monthly meeting of the Board of ESU 11 would be held on May 19, 2025 was published in newspapers of general circulation in the counties making up ESU 11 during the week of May 5, 2025 and broadcast over radio stations KUVR and KRVN. The Public Notice also stated that a current agenda of items to be brought before the Board was available for public inspection in the office of ESU 11 and that reasonable accommodations for individuals with special needs who want to attend the meeting would be provided on request if sufficient advance notice is given.

No visitors were present.

Mr. Poppert reviewed the consent agenda items, including the minutes from the April 14, 2025 meeting and the financial reports and claims. Motion made by Machelle Havenridge, seconded by George Probasco, to approve the consent agenda as presented. Vote as follows: Caroline Erickson, yes; Deanne Favinger, yes; Machelle Havenridge, yes; Vickie Klein, yes; Anita Krejdl, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; George Probasco, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; and Gary Smidt, yes. Motion carried 10 yes, 0 no, 0 absent.

Motion made by Vickie Klein, seconded by Gary Smidt, to approve Board Policy 4901 "Stipend Policy for Perkins Grant Fund". Vote as follows: Caroline Erickson, yes; Deanne Favinger, yes; Machelle Havenridge, yes; Vickie Klein, yes; Anita Krejdl, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; George Probasco, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; and Gary Smidt, yes. Motion carried 10 yes, 0 no, 0 absent.

Motion made by Deanne Favinger, seconded by Kim Scoville, to approve the ESU #11 Advisory Committee's recommended Program of Exploratory & Basic Services for 2025-26. Vote as follows: Caroline Erickson, yes; Deanne Favinger, yes; Machelle Havenridge, yes; Vickie Klein, yes; Anita Krejdl, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; George Probasco, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; and Gary Smidt, yes. Motion carried 10 yes, 0 no, 0 absent.

Motion made by Denis Reese, seconded by Deanne Favinger, to approve the ESUCC Master Service Agreement as presented. Vote as follows: Caroline Erickson, yes; Deanne Favinger, yes; Machelle Havenridge, yes; Vickie Klein, yes; Anita Krejdl,

ESU #11 BOARD MEETING MINUTES MAY 19, 2025 PAGE 2

yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; George Probasco, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; and Gary Smidt, yes. Motion carried 10 yes, 0 no, 0 absent.

Motion made by Machelle Havenridge, seconded by Vickie Klein, to approve the independent contract with Jessica Radford for the 2025-2026 school year. Vote as follows: Caroline Erickson, yes; Deanne Favinger, yes; Machelle Havenridge, yes; Vickie Klein, yes; Anita Krejdl, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; George Probasco, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; and Gary Smidt, yes. Motion carried 10 yes, 0 no, 0 absent.

Kate Hatch, Staff Development Director, reported that ESU 11 will be offering one graduate class in June. Participation numbers are low, but Jody Bauer's Technology Enhanced Teaching class will occur the first week in June. Stephanie Dannehl and Destinee Steinke are preparing for the Summer Honors Program (SHP). Approximately 105 students will participate this year. The new HAL Instructor is planning to be on site for the two weeks of SHP to learn more about the program. The 2025-26 Carl Perkins grant is almost ready to submit. NDE is still waiting on allocations to be announced. Kate will apply for the 2025-26 Perkins reimbursement dollars as soon as all of the funds have been spent at the conclusion of the NCE Conference in June. The ESU 11 CLSD Literacy grant is almost ready to submit as well. Jayme Schroeder, Chelsey Jensen, Mr. Poppert, and Kate have been working collaboratively to complete it. They are hoping to submit the grant by Thursday, May 22.

Lona Nelson, Special Education Director, reported that follow-up letters with needed steps to be taken by districts after Monitoring from NDE have been received. Corrective Action Plans are due by May 30, 2025. IEPs with non-compliance must be updated at an IEP meeting or an amendment. MDTs with non-compliance will be addressed in the Fall of 2025. Lona reported that Non-Public Consultation Meetings are being held throughout the districts. Districts are required to hold a meeting and upload documentation as part of their IDEA grant application. NDE has not been notified of IDEA dollars being allocated to Nebraska yet. Last, Lona mentioned that two students participated in a graduation celebration at Axtell North this week.

Wade Gibson, Media/Technology Director, reported that the E-Rate application for network equipment in Axtell has been approved, and that equipment will arrive in late June or early July. Wade mentioned that he and Alex Wyatt are working with Wilcox to get fiber pulled to their bus barn to support additional security cameras and other network attached devices. They are also planning to install some point-to-multipoint wireless equipment in Franklin in the coming weeks to bring high-speed network connectivity to their football field press box. Wade and Alex also have plans to visit every wiring closet in the ESU 11 area this summer to do general cleanup and update documentation.

Mr. Poppert, Unit Administrator, updated the Board on the building and grounds and reported that we will forego the July ESU 11 board meeting as discussed. The ESU building will have the stucco repaired in the next coming weeks due to last year's storm. The company repairing the stucco did find additional damage so our insurance company agreed to split the additional cost. Mr. Poppert reported that AMGL is no longer offering

ESU #11 BOARD MEETING MINUTES MAY 19, 2025 PAGE 3

to manage our cafeteria plans. Our business manager, Mandy Helms, was able to find a replacement company to take over this benefit for the ESU 11 employees.

The next meeting of the Board of Educational Service Unit #11 will be held on June 16, 2025 at 7:00 p.m.

Board President, Galen Kronhofman, declared the meeting adjourned at 7:33 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Vickie Klein, Board Secretary