MINUTES OF THE ESU #11 BOARD MEETING June 17, 2024

The Board of Educational Service Unit #11 of the State of Nebraska, hereinafter referred to as ESU 11, held its regular monthly meeting at the Office Building in Holdrege, Nebraska on June 17, 2024 with the following members present: Machelle Havenridge, Galen Kronhofman, Richard Phillips, Denis Reese, Kim Scoville, Gary Smidt, and Nate Stineman. Vickie Klein, Mary Oman, and George Probasco were absent.

Notification was made of the Open Meetings Law.

Public Notice that the regular monthly meeting of the Board of ESU 11 would be held on June 17, 2024 was published in newspapers of general circulation in the counties making up ESU 11 during the week of June 3, 2024 and broadcast over radio stations KUVR and KRVN. The Public Notice also stated that a current agenda of items to be brought before the Board was available for public inspection in the office of ESU 11 and that reasonable accommodations for individuals with special needs who want to attend the meeting would be provided on request if sufficient advance notice is given.

Motion made by Gary Smidt, seconded by Kim Scoville, to excuse the absences of Vickie Klein, Mary Oman, and George Probasco. Vote as follows: Machelle Havenridge, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Richard Phillips, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; Gary Smidt, yes; and Nate Stineman, yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no, 3 absent.

Mr. Poppert, ESU 11 Administrator, reviewed the consent agenda items, including the minutes from the May 20, 2024 meeting and the financial reports and claims. Motion made by Galen Kronhofman, seconded by Denis Reese, to approve the consent agenda as presented. Vote as follows: Machelle Havenridge, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Richard Phillips, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; Gary Smidt, yes, and Nate Stineman, yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no, 3 absent.

Motion made by Kim Scoville, seconded by Machelle Havenridge, to approve all policy revisions as presented. Vote as follows: Machelle Havenridge, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Richard Phillips, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; Gary Smidt, yes, and Nate Stineman, yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no, 3 absent.

Motion made by Machelle Havenridge, seconded by Galen Kronhofman, to approve policy 2008 revision effective January 1, 2025 as presented. Vote as follows: Machelle Havenridge, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Richard Phillips, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; Gary Smidt, yes, and Nate Stineman, yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no, 3 absent.

Motion made by Nate Stineman, seconded by Denis Reese, to approve the 2024-25 ESU #11 Staff Handbook as presented. Vote as follows: Machelle Havenridge, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Richard Phillips, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; Gary Smidt, yes, and Nate Stineman, yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no, 3 absent.

ESU #11 BOARD MEETING MINUTES JUNE 17, 2024 PAGE 2

Motion made by Kim Scoville, seconded by Gary Smidt, to authorize payment of the July 2024 claims. Vote as follows: Machelle Havenridge, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Richard Phillips, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; Gary Smidt, yes, and Nate Stineman, yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no, 3 absent.

Kate Hatch, Staff Development Director, reported that the first week of the Summer Honors Program (SHP) has concluded. Last week the Art students created sidewalk art in 3D outside four local businesses; Medical Science students learned from CHI Hospital, Phelps Memorial Hospital, and Holdrege Memorial Homes; the Creative Writing class held their annual Poetry Slam; and the SHP students competed against the instructors in a Quiz Bowl. The reception and graduation will start at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, June 21. To learn more about the SHP classes, you can follow on their Summer Honors Program Facebook page. Kate mentioned that the summer graduate classes were a success despite the fact that they were not full classes. Jody Bauer taught the *Blended Learning* class and Karmen Scharff-Sears taught the *From Worrier to Warrior* class. Last, Kate reported that the Carl Perkins Grant for the ESU 11 Consortium has been submitted and approved by NDE. She has also submitted the request for final payment for this year's grant activities so she is anticipating that will be approved in the near future.

Wade Gibson, Media/Technology Coordinator, reported to the Board on the thirteen ESU 11 area E-Rate Category 2 projects. They are currently in a holding pattern awaiting equipment arrival, which the vendor states should be in the next 1-2 weeks. Cambridge's application was approved last week and Eustis-Farnam's is still in review. The CAT6 cabling install for Southern Valley is scheduled to begin early next week. ATC (Arapahoe Telephone Company) is also in Southern Valley this week completing an internal fiber install as part of the new circuit upgrade this summer. Wade has been meeting weekly with service providers, Network Nebraska engineers, and OCIO personnel as circuits are scheduled to be upgraded to 1,000 Mbps prior to July 1. Wade also mentioned that he will be working with Axtell on their newly approved building project as planning gets underway in the coming weeks.

Mr. Poppert, Unit Administrator, reported that the building repair bids have been sent to Alicap who will decide which providers will do the repairs. He reported that ESU 11 has participated in the Eustis parade as well as the Medicine Creek parade, and plan to attend the Alma 4th of July parade too. Mr. Poppert reminded the Board to plan on August 26th for a budget work session meeting.

Motion made by Machelle Havenridge, seconded by Gary Smidt, to enter executive session at 7:35 to discuss personnel. Vote as follows: Machelle Havenridge, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Richard Phillips, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; Gary Smidt, yes, and Nate Stineman, yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no, 3 absent.

Mr. Phillips restated the reason for entering executive session was to discuss personnel.

ESU #11 BOARD MEETING MINUTES JUNE 17, 2024 PAGE 3

Motion made by Galen Kronhofman, seconded by Kim Scoville, to exit executive session at 7:45 p.m. Vote as follows: Machelle Havenridge, yes; Galen Kronhofman, yes; Richard Phillips, yes; Denis Reese, yes; Kim Scoville, yes; Gary Smidt, yes, and Nate Stineman, yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no, 3 absent.

The next regular meeting of the Board of Educational Service Unit #11 will be held on August 19, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.

Richard Phillips, Board President, declared the meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mary Oman, Board Secretary